The incredible true story of the powers of Yoda Cat and his dominion over history exams.

20120123-222159.jpg

So, after procrastinating constantly (I am the Queen of procrastination), and not revising for my History exam, I decided to use the force (see yesterday’s post), and hoped that the skills of Yoda Cat (aka Casper) would get me through the exam.

Read on, this is a good’un..

So, a bit of background info. I have an awful habit of reading in the bath. I can happily spend over an hour in the bath, reading whatever book/magazine takes my fancy.

Unfortunately, I also have an awful habit of dropping things in the bath. I have, on several occasions over the years, dropped two phones (who both sadly died shortly after) and countless books and magazines into the bath. These included one or two library books, and as you can imagine this was a rather awkward situation to explain to the librarian.

After the near-death experience of another phone, and the realisation that this was a rather expensive habit, I decided that one of my (many) New Years Resolutions was to stop taking all electronic items, and all library books, into the bath. Despite this, I do read my own books in the bath. You have to cut me some slack here.

Anyway, back to my exam and the force. I had procrastinated for the entire day before my exam (yesterday), and in the evening I decided to have a bath to soothe the self-inflicted pain of not knowing anything remotely historical related.

After my severe lack of revision I had a last-minute change of heart, and decided to take my history textbook, which was shamefully unfamiliar to me, into the bath. I thought I’d take a mahooooosive gamble and just revise one topic (out of 16) at random, and pray to Yoda that it would come up in the exam.

So, I randomly opened the book (in the bath) to the Liberal Social Reforms in the early 1900s, and read away for a good hour or so.

AND GUESS WHAT THE EXAM WAS ON TODAY.

Yep! The Liberal Social Reforms!!!

When I opened up the paper, I literally could not believe my eyes. What were the chances??

I guess I do seem to have incredible luck sometimes.. You can choose to believe this or not, but last summer I randomly guessed the room, weapon and person correct during a family game of Cluedo, on the very first turn of the game. However, I’ve never won the lottery. Hmm, I must be doing something wrong..

Seriously though, never risking an exam like that again though. The feeling of walking into the exam hall this morning was not pleasant. At all.

Ah well. No more exams til the end of May, then after that lot I’m all finished and set to go to Uni!

Anyway, glad I wrote that post yesterday and Yoda Cat came into being..

Here’s a photo of the adorable fluffball himself, nonchalantly licking his paw, seemingly unaware of his astounding powers..

Or perhaps it was a fluke.

20120123-222159.jpg

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. andy1076
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 23:08:15

    Yay Yoda cat!! :) may I recommend one of those tray things you can slide on the tub? lol ;)

    Reply

  2. Deepika
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 06:41:22

    I love your cat.. so cute and adorable..:)

    Reply

  3. Tilly Bud
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 15:13:18

    Will you buy my lottery ticket please?

    Which uni are you going to? If it’s okay to ask, that is. I hope you’re not taking history…

    Reply

    • TLS
      Jan 24, 2012 @ 15:32:57

      Sure.. But if you win I’m claiming it!! :)
      Bath Spa to study EDUCATION, haha!

      Reply

      • Tilly Bud
        Jan 25, 2012 @ 07:35:11

        ;) Frightening on so many levels!

        Seriously, good luck with it. My son is ay Lancaster studying Politics and Philosophy – now YOU should be frightened. :)

      • TLS
        Jan 25, 2012 @ 22:46:09

        Ooh yes.. Tried my hand at studying philosophy last year.. It wasn’t my thing.
        Amusingly enough though, my history paper was on british politics! :)

  4. Arjun Sharma
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 15:10:31

    i am a complete cat person. Yeah Cats!!! great post :)

    Reply

  5. zorgor
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 01:04:14

    Wow, that is a great post! What incredible luck! Unbelievable!! I have to say though, ceasing to bring electronic devices and books into the bath is by far the best new years resolution I have ever heard! Stick with that one!! At least for electronic devices and library books… You wouldn’t want Paddy to go for a swim. I mean, I never worked for Apple, but I’m pretty sure iPads like water even less than cats do.

    I will say though that you have excellent writing skills, going into ‘Uni’. If the UK equivalent of the SAT focuses on math and English as much as the US SAT does, I’m sure you blew the roof off the English score!

    Reply

    • TLS
      Jan 28, 2012 @ 12:34:48

      Haha thanks zorgs! (The name’s sticking now!)
      Yes, I think when I got Paddy at the end of last year I realised he probably isn’t a huge fan of water..
      Although shhh don’t tell, but I did take him into the bathroom the other day when I was having a bath, and watched the rest of a film with him happily propped on the windowsill.. It doesn’t reaaally count.. :)
      Hmm, I had to google ‘SAT’ – still a bit confused, do you need to do one to get into university (college)? In the UK we apply to university by submitting our grades, and by doing a ‘personal statement’ talking about ourselves and explaining why we want to study our chosen subject.. But anyway, thank you very much for your kind compliment! :)

      Reply

      • zorgor
        Jan 28, 2012 @ 19:23:46

        Exactly, American universities use SAT scores when deciding which applicants to accept. The test is made up of two broad sections — math and English, covering everything you’re expected to have learned up to that point. I like the idea of a personal statement though. That sounds like ‘I want to go to university because I want to learn about this’ vs. ‘I want to go to university because I want a degree so I can get a good job’… Eh, but I suppose in practice it boils down to the same thing.

        Ok, how close is the windowsill to the water or the hard, hard floor? :) Just kidding.

    • TLS
      Jan 29, 2012 @ 10:51:21

      Oh right.. Yeah personal statements are quite a big thing, mine took weeks to write. It’s actually so difficult cause you have to say all the relevent experience/work you’ve done for your course, and basically completely sell yourself to them, cause you want them to accept you! Plus they’re really quite short, around 700 words, so it’s so hard to cram everything in! I was thinking of posting mine at some point on here..

      Reply

      • zorgor
        Jan 29, 2012 @ 23:04:25

        Yeah… open-ended things like that can be difficult. And selling yourself never gets any easier, imo… Some have a natural talent for it though — salespeople…

  6. Miro
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 01:12:38

    Would you like to join my lottery ticket pool? I’ll let you choose the numbers. :)
    Fun story, hope your good fortune continues!
    Peace & grace,
    ~Miro

    Reply

    • TLS
      Jan 28, 2012 @ 12:37:47

      Haha! Sure, but as I said above.. If you win, I’m claiming at least 75% of the money! :)
      Thank you very much for reading. I love how you always sign your name ‘peace & grace’, spreads a bit of love around WordPress. We need more people like you! :)

      Reply

  7. Love and I Do
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 05:28:24

    Your kitty is just the cutest little thing!!! Glad u did well on the exam!!

    Reply

Leave a comment